Skip to content

Dreaming of a Green Christmas: Graham Gardens Giveaway! {CLOSED}

11/17/2011

Christmas Giveaway Tree 4I’m excited to be participating in the Dreaming of a Green Christmas Giveaway Bash this week along with several other green bloggers.  We’ll be giving you the opportunity to win green Christmas gifts for your family, friends, or yourself!  Be sure to check out the other great giveaways at the end of this post.

Today’s review and giveaway is from Graham Gardens! I am so excited that they’ve agreed to participate in the giveaway bash since my family uses at least one of their products on a daily basis and they are one of my favorite companies. Graham Gardens is a family business based out of Pennsylvania.  They are the makers of lotion bars, healing salves, soap, and natural baby products. In fact, the very first post here at Kinda Crunchy Kate was inspired by Graham Gardens. I liked their Butter Bar (a.k.a, hard lotion bar) so much that I decided to make my own! Mr. Graham is a chemist and makes all of the salves and butter bars. Mrs. Graham makes all of the soap, does the gardening, and is the graphic designer.

Review of their Products

Graham Gardens graciously sent me some soap and a Gardener’s Hand Repair bar to try. I’ve purchased some of their products in the past, so I’ll review those too.

Butter Bars

Original Butter Bar CollectionButter bar is what Graham Gardens calls their hard lotion bar. I absolutely love their butter bars. When I bought my bar last year, I had hoped it would last me the whole winter. I liked it so much that I used it everyday and went through it way faster than I had anticipated.  I’ll never use conventional lotion again after trying a hard lotion bar. It makes my skin feel great and I know that it doesn’t have any crazy chemicals in it, which make me feel even better.  Everyone in my family uses lotion bars now. (In fact, I don’t think my kiddos realize that not everyone uses hard lotion.) There are three different scents. I got the unscented (which smells slightly like chocolate because of the cocoa butter in it), but I’m sure the other two smell really nice as well.

Gardener’s Hand Repair

Gardener's Hand RepairI asked to review the Gardener’s Hand Repair because I’ve been wanting to try it since they came out with it earlier this year. Its much thicker than the lotion bar and goes on greasier, but its supposed to be. A little goes a long way, too, which I think is why its only sold in one size. It provides an intense moisturization for your hands. I plan on using it this winter before I go to bed a couple times a week so my hands don’t get so dry this winter. I’ll also be using it this summer after I garden. I don’t see this being an every day kind of lotion—just something extra when you really need it.

Soap

Soap SamplerI tried four of the soaps from Graham Gardens—Bella Luna, Christmas Kitchen, Sleigh Ride, and Silver Alpine. I have to be honest and say that I didn’t request the Bella Luna Soap because I wasn’t quite sure about it. The essential oils that its scented with are lavender, pink grapefruit, rose geranium, and wintergreen. That’s an interesting combination, huh? Can I just say that I am completely addicted to this soap now? It smells heavenly. (Thanks to Mrs. Graham for including it in my package!) In fact, I’m hoping I can convince Graham Gardens to make some kind of solid perfume or something with that scent. The other soaps all smelled great as well and they are so pretty. The packaging of the soaps is exquisite. I mentioned to Mrs. Graham how much I liked the packaging and she said she designed it so that even our “non-natural” friends would enjoy using these products.  I am very impressed by the scents and the packaging of the soaps. I even bought my mom some bars as a (very!) late birthday gift after I got my package. (Her favorites are Christmas Kitchen and Sleigh Ride.) There are 11 scents available, even some geared toward men. (My husband liked the Silver Alpine scent .)

Healthy Skin Salve

Healthy Skin SalveThe Healthy Skin Salve is my go to product for all of our cuts, scrapes, and bumps. When my kiddos get hurt, they ask for “green stuff”.” (I wrote about it here.) I’ve used it on blemishes on my face (because sometimes my face forgets that I’m almost 30, not 16) and it helps to clear them up a little bit faster. We’ve used in on poison ivy, too, to aid in healing. I’ve even used it on my dog. :)This is a great, non-petroleum based alterative to the main stream triple antibiotic ointments and it smells better and doesn’t leave your skin all greasy. There are a couple other kinds of salves available as well—Rugged Relief and Creature Comfort.

Bug Bar Natural Bug Block

I bought the Bug Bar at the end of the summer last year and didn’t need to use it until this summer. I was pleasantly surprised that it even kept South Georgia bugs away. It smells so much better than the “normal” bug block and I feel a lot better about putting this on my kiddos skin.

Would You Like to Win Some of Their Products?

graham gardensGraham Gardens is offering the winner of this giveaway one butter bar of your choice, one salve of your choice, and a soap sampler pack!

Here’s How to Enter

There are four ways to enter—one mandatory entry and three optional entries for a total of up to four entries per person. You must leave a separate comment for each method of entry!

Mandatory Entry: Leave a comment on this post. Any comment will do. Complimentary comments are appreciated, but won’t increase your chances of winning. :) Please make sure to leave your correct email address in the part where it asks for your email because that’s how I’ll be contacting the winner. And, don’t worry, your email won’t show up in your comment, but I can see it “behind the scenes.”

Optional Entries:

  1. Go to the Graham Gardens website, look around, and come back and leave a comment on this post telling me what your favorite product is or what you’d like to try.
  2. Like Graham Gardens on Facebook and then come back here and leave a comment on this post telling me you did so. They post fun things (and sale codes too!), so you won’t regret liking them.
  3. Subscribe to Kinda Crunchy Kate via RSS feed or by email  and then come back here and leave a comment on this post telling me you did so. (You can subscribe by email by going to the top of the right hand column and entering your email address.)

Discount Code!

Graham Gardens is offering my readers 25% off your purchase by using the code KrunchyKate25 when you check out. Its good until November 30th at midnight. Woohoo! Time to do some Christmas shopping!

This giveaway is open for entries until 11:59pm on November 24rd. The winner will be randomly chosen by the powers at random.org and then contacted by email.  The winners for all 4 giveaways this week will be announced on this blog on November 28th.

Check out today’s other great giveaways in the Dreaming of a Green Christmas Giveaway Bash:

Simply Rebekah: Earth Mama Angel Baby

A Delightful Home: Jenuinely Pure Gift Voucher

The Small Print a.k.a. Disclaimer and The Official Rules

I was given free product to review by Graham Gardens (thank you!), but I have purchased from them in the past and will do so in the future. (Especially since I now have an addiction to the Bella Luna soap!) No purchase necessary to enter. This sweepstakes/giveaway is only open to residents of the USA. You must be at least 18 years old to enter. This giveaway is void where prohibited by law. (That sounded so official!) The odds of winning are based upon the number entries received. Graham Gardens will be responsible for mailing the winner’s items to them. If you’ve read through all of this stuff, you might as well head on over and read my official disclosure policy too.

108 Comments
  1. Kearsa permalink
    11/20/2011 11:21 am

    I liked Graham Gardens on Facebook.

  2. Kearsa permalink
    11/20/2011 11:22 am

    I live in Florida and we have a ton of bugs. I would love to try the Bug Bar on my kids.

  3. 11/20/2011 3:44 pm

    Would love to win a natural soap!

  4. Amanda permalink
    11/20/2011 4:28 pm

    I found your blog by way of the lotion bar picture tutorial and would love to try Graham Gardens’ version. Great giveaway!

  5. Amanda permalink
    11/20/2011 4:30 pm

    Looked at Graham Gardens’ website and would like to try the original butter bar or the bug bar.

  6. Amanda permalink
    11/20/2011 4:31 pm

    I like Graham Gardens on facebook.

  7. Emily C permalink
    11/21/2011 2:43 pm

    Thanks for sharing this company. Im always looking for natural personal care products and all of these products look great!

Trackbacks

  1. Dreaming of a Green Christmas Giveaway Winners! « Kinda Crunchy Kate

Comments are closed.