Skip to content

Recipe: Better Than Ranch Dressing

11/09/2011

Earlier this year, I posted about how much I like Hidden Valley Ranch dressing and how I wasn’t willing to give it up (even though it has MSG and other crazy chemicals in it). Fast forward to a couple months ago. I tried a recipe for Ranch dressing without any crazy chemicals in it and its amazing. Seriously. I wouldn’t switch over to it if it wasn’t. In fact, I think I like it better than the store bought stuff since its thicker and creamier. I won’t go as far to say this is healthy for you (since I’m still using store bought mayo), but I think it’s a good compromise.homemade ranch dressing photo

Better Than Ranch Dressing

(Very slightly adapted from the recipe found at Kitchen Stewardship)

Ingredients

3/4 cup mayonnaise

1/2 cup sour cream

1 Tbs Red Wine Vinegar

2 cloves garlic, minced

1/2 tsp onion powder

1/4+ tsp each: parsley, dill, and chives (I’ve used fresh and dried chives, and both were good)

Pepper, to taste

Salt, if desired

Instructions

Mix all ingredients together. I usually just mix it right in the jar I’m going to store it in so it saves me a dish to wash.  :) (I like to reuse peanut butter jars for this!)  Its tastes best if its had time to sit in the fridge for a couple of hours to let the flavors develop. I’ll let you decide how long its good for. I’ve had it in the fridge for up to a month without any problem, though.

9 Comments
  1. 11/09/2011 11:19 am

    This is terrific! I live in a country where good ranch dressing is LITERALLY impossible to find and I always miss it! Can’t wait to try this!

    • Kate permalink*
      11/09/2011 11:34 am

      I wish I would’ve had this recipe when we lived in the UK. Hope you like the recipe as much as I do!

  2. Tara permalink
    11/09/2011 11:27 am

    Mmmm….. I’ve tried a few homemade recipes that were good, but not amazing. Can’t wait to try this one.

    • Kate permalink*
      11/09/2011 11:35 am

      I think its the fresh garlic (and maybe the red wine vinegar) that makes this stand out from the couple other recipes I tried that didn’t measure up to my standard. :)

  3. 11/09/2011 11:39 am

    At home one can make ANYTHING available in a supermarket, only better, cheaper and healthier.

  4. Blair Reid permalink
    11/09/2011 12:18 pm

    Can’t wait to try this!

  5. 11/10/2011 8:43 am

    Mmm, I am having such a hard time letting go of store bought Ranch dressing! I did find one that doesn’t have crazy chemicals in it, and it’s pretty good, but still not exactly what I want. I’ve experimented with some different recipes and haven’t found one that I love yet. I’ll have to try this one out next. I buy mayo from Trader Joe’s and even though it still has soybean oil in it, I still feel better about it than most store-bought brands. Thanks for sharing!

  6. 11/11/2011 8:56 am

    Confession: I kind of zoned out from this recipe when I saw that it needs Red Wine Vinegar. I never buy that. Do you have to buy a huge bottle? Does it store for a long time? I’d like to try this recipe, but I hate buying things that I’ll only use for one recipe.

    • Kate permalink*
      11/11/2011 9:04 am

      You can buy it in a small bottle and, surprisingly enough, I use it frequently. It stores a long time, too. (Does vinegar go bad? Maybe I should check on that.) I have a couple other recipes that call for red wine vinegar, so I always have some in my pantry. I could give you my other recipes so that way you’ll use it for more than one recipe. :) Seriously though, I also dislike buying something when I’ll only use it for one recipe, so I understand that feeling.

Comments are closed.