Skip to content

Menu Plan Monday–First Week of November (with Yummy Baked Fish Recipe)

10/31/2011

 

Here we are in our costumes. Not sure what my daughter is doing with her face.

We had a fun weekend with two parties and the kiddos dressed up both nights, which they loved. I was a Renaissance woman, my daughter was a butterfly, and my son was a bee. (My husband didn’t get to come because he was called in to work on Saturday.) Although, after eating hot dogs and the various cookout food two nights in a row, I’m really craving some healthy food.

 

 How Do I Meal Plan

plan-to-eat-logo-smI thought I’d mention quickly that I use Plan to Eat for my meal planning. I signed up for it in May (it was my Mother’s Day present) and its really made planning much easier. (I know. Weird Mother’s Day gift. But I was really getting annoyed with how long it was taking me to meal plan.)  It’s a bit time consuming to get your recipes in there (although they made that as easy as possible with a button you can add to your bookmarks bar to quickly add a recipe), but once you’ve got them in there, you can quickly plan your meals. I like that I can also print out a grocery list and even add other items I need. You can sign up with a free 30 day trial if you’d like to try it.

Menu Plan

Monday: Yummy Baked Fish with Sautéed Zucchini and Brown Rice (recipe for the baked fish at the end of this post)

Tuesday: Nachos with Homemade Refried Beans (which are made in the crock pot) – I’ve got an Usborne book party in the morning and then we have family photos scheduled that afternoon/evening, so I need something easy and fast. I’ll put the beans in the crock pot that morning and try to have all the other ingredients already cut up beforehand.

Wednesday: Cilantro lime chicken with spanish rice – This chicken recipe is SO good, but be careful with the adobo peppers.  They are spicy!

Thursday: Panera Bread Broccoli and Cheddar soup (it’s a copycat recipe), breadsticks, and salad – I’m on the MOPS Steering Teams this year and we’re all meeting at my house on this evening to plan for our November meeting. I’m looking forward to it!

Friday: Leftovers

Saturday and Sunday: Either leftovers or we’ll do something easy like a big salad or green smoothies.

Recipe: Yummy Baked Fish

(adapted from this recipe)

Ingredients

6 Tbsp olive oil

1 Tbsp butter, melted

1 tsp basil

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp pepper

1 1/2 Tbsp lemon juice

1 tsp parsley

dash of dill

2 cloves minced garlic

Fish fillets (either white fish or salmon)

Instructions

Mix up all of the ingredients (except the fish) in a little bowl. Then place the fish in an oven safe 8×8 (or whatever size you need)  dish. Pour the stuff in the bowl over the fish. Cover with foil and refrigerate at least an hour before you bake the fish. When you are ready, pop it in the oven (preheat to 350F) and bake it until the fish is flaky and your kitchen smells delicious. (Baking times will vary based on how much fish you are baking and how thick it is.)

________________________________

Disclaimer: I’m an affiliate of Plan to Eat, although I do use it for all of my meal planning and would recommend it even if I wasn’t an affiliate. If you sign up with a paid membership, I’ll get a small compensation. Thanks for supporting Kinda Crunchy Kate!

I’m linking up with Organizing Junkie and Keeper of the Home!

3 Comments
  1. Denise Dix permalink
    10/31/2011 10:16 am

    Thanks for the fish recipe, Kate. I plan to try it next week. :)

  2. 11/06/2011 4:31 pm

    i signed up for plan to eat and im going to check out that soup recipe now!
    Here is a link to my Menu Plan/Question of the week
    I would love if you stopped by to check it out
    I know the week is over but it takes me all week to browse the menus
    Enjoy your sunday:)

  3. 11/15/2011 3:22 pm

    I think I’m going to try out Plan to Eat too. I desperately need to organize all of my recipes in one place!

Comments are closed.