Skip to content

From Pinterest to Real Life: Flowers, Bracelets, Burlap, and More

10/28/2011

Let me start out by saying that I love Pinterest. If you are even remotely crafty, creative, artsy fartsy, or just have 1000 pages bookmarked on your computer, you need to join. We can be Pinterest friends! (If you have no idea what I’m talking about, Megan explains it all here and here.) I’ve noticed that since I’ve started using Pinterest, I’ve been much more likely to actually make some of the items that used to languish in my bookmarks folder and I’m really enjoying it!

What I Made this Month

Flowers for Pins and Barrettes

You can find all kinds of DIY flower inspiration on my board Felt and Fabric Flowers.

tshirtflowers

T-shirt flower tutorial from Matsutake. I used a t-shirt that had gotten a stain on the front to make my flowers. This was so quick and so easy that I made two. I made it into a pin and have gotten many compliments on it. You can change the look of the flower based on how wide the strips of fabric are that you use.

more tshirt flowers

Another t-shirt flower tutorial from Emily’s Little World. This one made a really nice full flower. I’m going to glue a barrette on the back so my daughter can wear it. I made it from the same t-shirt as the other ones.

fabric rosette jewelry tutorial

Fabric Rosette tutorial from Little Birdie Secrets. This is also super easy and very pretty.

fabric flower

This is a fabric flower tutorial done by brittany soucy on Flickr. I really liked the results, but the way it came together in the back wasn’t very well suited to making a barrette out of it. I just set it on my bookshelf to look pretty since it matches the lamp shades I redid.

Bracelet

I saw a bracelet that someone had made by crocheting or knitting around a hard bracelet form floating around the Pin-sphere. (Does that make sense? And I definitely just made up that Pin-sphere word.) I remember thinking, “I bet I could cut up an old sweater and make that.” When I went back to go find it, I couldn’t find it anywhere. While I was searching all over, I came across this lovely tutorial from Organize and Decorate Everything to make a bracelet out of an old sweater. Sweet!

I took this sweater that I bought at a yard sale (but never actually wore  because it didn’t fit right) and a bracelet that I got for free and made a sweater bracelet! (Don’t worry. I only took the neon yellow bracelet because I had this project in mind. I don’t usually wear day-glo jewelry.)

Before

100_2779retouch

I know you can't read what I thought I so cleverly wrote on the picture. Click on it if you want to see it bigger. Sorry!

After

100_2812retouch

Burlap

Burlap is everywhere on Pinterest right now. I had some leftover from a project my husband was going to do years ago, but never did. So, I cut it up and put it around my house to decorate for Fall/Thanksgiving.

Here’s my little entryway table.

100_2815

More

I made this sight words game for my daughter (which she LOVES right now), which was inspired by this pin. (You can see more Homeschool Inspiration and Activites on my board.)

I used this tip and made a ginger garlic paste for my Indian meal this week. I also tried a pumpkin spiced latte recipe, but I didn’t really like it. (Its probably because I don’t really like coffee and this tasted more like coffee than I am used to. I think with some tweaking, I’d like it.)

Have you joined Pinterest? Do you find it helps you to be more creative or do you think its just a time suck?

________________________________________________

I’m linking up to Simple Organic’s From Pinterest to Real Life link up. Check it out for more pretty things!

6 Comments
  1. 10/28/2011 7:22 am

    I did a pin to real life too ….. I think pin sphere is a word. :) LOVE the flowers. I might have to grab a t-shirt or two out of the donation pile to make a few!

  2. Tara permalink
    10/28/2011 8:53 am

    I love Pinterest but find I can waste a lot of time admiring projects I just don’t have time to do. There are so many cool things on there!

  3. 10/28/2011 10:05 am

    Loooove those flowers! I pinned something similar and it’s encouraging to see how well yours turned out!

  4. 10/31/2011 12:41 pm

    Very cool! Found you from Simple Organic’s link up!

  5. 11/23/2011 9:53 pm

    Thanks for linking up! Love all those flowers you made and now I’m following you on PInterest, too! :)

  6. 03/01/2012 9:17 pm

    Fun to blog about what you have actually MADE from Pinterest. Thanks for mentioning my tutorial and for the link. :) I love love love Pinterest and agree that I find myself doing MORE crafties and recipes since joining up. So fun!

Comments are closed.