Skip to content

Menu Plan Monday – Busy Week!

10/17/2011

planitdontpanic

It was so nice having a plan last week! I didn’t have to do any trips to the grocery store mid-week (which saves me time and gas) and we ate much healthier. I also like not having to think about it much during the week since I usually start thinking about what to have for supper around 4pm if I don’t already have some sort of plan in place.

 

 

Here’s the menu plan for this week!

Breakfasts

(We decide that morning what we are going to have based on how many times my husband hit the snooze button.) :)

Homemade yogurt and maple pecan granola (I need to make more granola this week.)

Green smoothies

Eggs and cheese grits

Oatmeal (Lately we’ve been having blueberry oatmeal and using some of the fresh blueberries I got this summer and then froze.)

Lunch

Kids

Natural peanut butter and local raw honey on whole wheat bread

Cream cheese on whole wheat tortilla

fruit and/or veggies

cheese

Adults

Salad with homemade dressing

Supper

Monday:  Just me and the kids this evening, so I’ll make pumpkin pancakes for them. That’s their favorite meal. My husband will be at church for Men’s Night and needs to take a side dish, so I’ll make him a big green salad to take along. I still have a few salad things from last week that need to be used. (Men’s Night is always heavy on the meat and dessert and low on the veggies, so he usually wants me to make him something green to take along. I’m guessing he may be the only one eating it, though!) I also need to make more chicken stock, so I’ll do that this evening.

Tuesday: MOPS! I’ll eat there and take the kids a sack supper. I volunteered to bring two pumpkin pies to the meeting.

Wednesday: Shepherd’s Pie – I have a lot of random veggies in the fridge that need to be used up and this dish is great for that. I”ll use ground venison instead of lamb.) Incidentally, does anyone else think of this quote from “My Big Fat Greek Wedding” when you talk about lamb? I love that movie.

Thursday: Chicken Makhani with Naan bread (I’ve never made naan before. I’ve  always bought it, but I can’t find it here and I’ve heard its easy, so I’m going to give it a try.)

Friday: Leftovers

Saturday and Sunday: Either leftovers or homemade pizza (with half white and half whole wheat flour).

____________________________________________________________

I’m linking up with Keeper of the Home and Organizing Junkie!

7 Comments
  1. Karie permalink
    10/17/2011 8:28 am

    Jeremiah will be thrilled there will be a salad tonight! I always try to send something green too but he is going straight from work and empty handed so thanks! :-)

  2. 10/17/2011 9:03 am

    LOVE this! you are organized and nutritious! love it! have a wonderful week!~love grace

  3. 10/18/2011 3:06 am

    Looks really good, Kate. I also love having it all planned, tho I usually don’t have a good plan for the first 2 meals, so it’s never as thought thru or healthy as dinner. I like you plan it all.

  4. Tiffany permalink
    10/18/2011 8:22 am

    I hate meal planning. I love to cook, just hate deciding what to make. I wouldn’t say we are picky eaters (except Jae) but we tend to not be very adventurous. I started to try and plan for 2 weeks at a time just to cut down on the time it takes me to make a plan. It still takes me 2-3 days though to make a list and go shopping.

  5. Christa permalink
    10/21/2011 12:42 pm

    Yes, I think of that quote whenever I say lamb. “What you mean he don’t eat no meat?! That’s ok – I make lamb.” LOL!! Great movie

    • Kate permalink*
      10/21/2011 12:51 pm

      I’m glad I’m not the only one who quotes that movie! I love it!

  6. Kim permalink
    10/23/2011 5:59 pm

    Naan bread is super easy to make. Just give yourself enough time. My kids LOVE it. That reminds me, maybe I should put it on MY menu!

Comments are closed.