Skip to content

Crazy Week!

04/28/2011

Its been a crazy week this week! This is the 4th week in a row that my husband has been working 12-13 hours days 6 days a week, both of my kiddos have had a stomach bug, for some reason I decided it was a good idea to paint my daughter’s bedroom, and I’ve been doing my best to keep up with the housework and the garden during the rest of my time. Whew!

I thought I’d check in here and say “hi!” and also show you my daughter’s Easter dress and bow. Every time I make something, I try to learn at least one new skill. (Don’t you just love the Internet? There is a tutorial for almost anything you want to learn.) This time I learned how to follow a pattern (cut on the fold, etc), and how to make and place covered buttons. This is the first piece of clothing I’ve ever made, and I was very pleased with the result. There’s actually a few little mistakes here and there on the dress, but they aren’t noticeable and I feel like I learned a ton in the process.  I actually had it done before Sunday morning, which is pretty good for me. :)

The tutorial and pattern can be found over at The Cottage Home.

(Click on the pictures to make them bigger.)

I have all sorts of posts waiting to be written, including one about local produce, more gardening updates,  and some frugal decorating projects, but that’ll have to wait until I can actually have time to sit down and write. Hopefully next week will not be so eventful!

5 Comments
  1. Nana Phyllis permalink
    04/29/2011 7:35 am

    You did a beautiful job, Kate. I used to do quite a lot of sewing, but not in many years. Lily looks beautiful.

  2. 04/29/2011 9:17 am

    Hey, yogurt seems to cut down on those stomach thingies – time to make more yogurt! Although a nurse just told my wife there is a bad stomach virus making the rounds… yogurt may not help that one.

    And you and your hubby need to take some time away. We raised 4 children and every couple of months we would take a mini-vacation.

    Take it from one who has been there…

    Bill

  3. Sarah permalink
    04/30/2011 8:06 am

    What a great job on her dress! I’m quite impressed. Hope this week proves uneventful and less busy for you!

  4. 05/04/2011 4:23 pm

    Great first project! You did a fabulous job! Yay for us wanna-be pioneer women!

    • Kate permalink*
      05/12/2011 10:02 pm

      Thanks! I’ve enjoyed seeing all the stuff you sew over on your blog. Wish you lived closer so you could teach me what you know!

Comments are closed.