Skip to content

The Great Natural Deodorant Giveaway and Challenge

04/04/2011

Hello everyone! Today is the first ever giveaway on Kinda Crunchy Kate! I’ve been mulling this over for a while now and I’m finally going to do it today!

When I wrote about my own experience with natural deodorant, I wrote about how surprised I was that it really did work. I thought it’d be nice to do a Natural Deodorant Challenge during the month of May and to announce this by doing a giveaway. This way I could introduce 4 people to it without any real cost commitment on their part and encourage everyone else to think about making the Big Switch. (I’m doing the giveaway early so that way I have time to get the ingredients shipped out and let people have time to purchase the needed ingredients if they don’t win next week and still want to particiapte.)

Here are the details:

The “prize”: One month’s worth of natural deodorant. I will ship you the coconut oil, the arrowroot powder, and the baking soda. If you want it to be scented, you’ll have to provide your own essential oil.

The details: You will need to mix up all the ingredients and then agree to wear the natural deodorant during the entire month of May.  After that, I ask that you please write up a little piece that will be published on the blog about how you liked it, thoughts, etc. {Edited to add: You won’t have to write much. Basically, just answer a few questions like “Did the deodorant work?” and “How did you like it?”} If you have a website, I’m happy to link to that when I mention your name.

Who: I would prefer that you enter only if you are not using natural deodorant already. If you are somewhat skeptical about it or have been wanting to try it for a while, but haven’t gotten around to it yet, then that is perfect!

I will be choosing two winners next Monday, April 11. I’ve already asked two of my friends to participate (since I didn’t know how much interest I would get!)–Sara a.k.a. Mamabellum (a friend from college) and Emily a.k.a. Miss Mommy (a friend from Scotland). Both of these ladies are fairly skeptical about the natural deodorant, but because they love me, said they would switch to the natural deodorant for a month. :) Thanks ladies! So, at the beginning of June, if all goes as planned, we will hear about four different people’s perspectives. Hopefully, this will help you decide whether you’d like to make the “big switch” or not yourself.

Even if you don’t win next Monday, please start thinking about if you’d like to join these 4 other people in switching to a natural deodorant in May. I’ll write more about that next Monday.

To enter, just leave a comment on this post and let me know your initial thoughts about natural deodorant. I’m keeping it simple and just doing one entry per person. Two random winners will be chosen next Monday! I’m really sorry, but this is only open to US residents. (I can’t afford skipping elsewhere!)

Let the Great Natural Deodorant Giveaway Begin!!

21 Comments
  1. Tiffany permalink
    04/04/2011 3:07 pm

    I am willing to try. I have been curious about it but nervous that it won’t keep me smelling fresh all day.

  2. 04/04/2011 7:45 pm

    I am perhaps the least crunchy person out there, and I am intrigued. I’ve been having issues with my latest deodorant causing underarm itchiness and I am willing to give it a try. Plus I think it will be pretty funny to blog about if I win :)

  3. 04/05/2011 2:53 am

    Hmm… I am interested in trying, but I think it would be MORE interesting if Chris tried (and I know he would). He has tried all sorts of deodorants and swears the only ones that work are full of chemicals. I’ve actually thought about making this after reading your post, but some of the ingredients are hard to find over here. I’ve looked up an NZ recipe though… so we’ll see :-)

  4. 04/05/2011 2:50 pm

    So fun- excited about this!!

  5. Meagan permalink
    04/05/2011 3:22 pm

    It is soo funny that you posted about this because I had been reading up on natural deodorants myself and was going to try the recipe Lindsey over at Passionate Homemaking had (and reading your other post about deodorant, it’s the recipe you use too). More people need to hop on the natural bandwagon! Can’t wait to try it out!

  6. Jodi permalink
    04/05/2011 8:29 pm

    I’ve been looking for something to try. I tried Tom’s of Maine and it didn’t like me :-( I’ve tried some stuff from Lush at the mall and that didn’t work either. Thanks for the hint on nonscented too as we have a friend who can’t be around the scented stuff!

  7. June Jones permalink
    04/06/2011 12:47 pm

    I quit using deodorant several years ago because I was paranoid I’d get breast cancer. The summer is quite hot and humid, so I’ve avoided a lot of activity except walking around in air-conditioned malls! I’d love to try a natural alternative. Even though my husband says I do not smell, really, can a guy smell body odor the way a woman can????

  8. Nana Phylllis permalink
    04/06/2011 4:52 pm

    I love the hard lotion and make the fake Larabars so why not try natural deodorant? I could give the “Older person’s” opinion!! Love to try it, thanks for offering the opportunity.

  9. Christa Schneider permalink
    04/06/2011 6:02 pm

    I would like to enter the contest! My initial thoughts are that it seems like a good, healthy decision but I’m wondering if it will have any anti-perspirant values, if it really will deodorize all day, and how my clothes will react (arm pits). I would love to try this out !

  10. 04/07/2011 10:03 pm

    I won’t enter because I make my own deodorant using these same ingredients.Just wanted to say that it works great and I think anyone who wins this will be Wonderfully Blessed!

  11. Andrea permalink
    04/08/2011 3:37 pm

    Okay, folks. Here’s the deal:

    This is the best deodorant ever. EVER. Of course I was skeptical…..because if there’s one thing we cannot be – it’s smelly. This deodorant won my heart (and my armpits) when even my husband did not smell badly when using it. The verdict is: it works. Yep, I still sweat sometimes. But when I do, my sweat smells like water.

    Let me give you some tips to save some time and hassle:

    1. I would definitely take the extra step to spoon it into an old deodorant dispenser. For me, putting it on my fingers grossed me out and was a deal breaker.

    2. Now, don’t go throwing away the little plastic piece on the end of your old, empty deodorant dispenser. It’s what makes it push up when you twist the bottom.

    3. You will indeed have a detox period. But it’s only once so get through it. Sure, I smelled like a male silverback gorilla for a couple weeks, but it was worth it.

    4. Keep it in the fridge unless your house is unusually cool.

    Thank you, Kate for this wonderful tutorial and blog. Good luck to all of you who are entering the contest! (Even if you don’t win, give it a shot!)

    • Kate permalink*
      04/08/2011 3:48 pm

      The silverback gorilla thing had me cracking up! Thanks for the encouragement and helpful info!! I haven’t tried it in the deodorant tube because I was concerned about the coconut oil melting, but it makes sense that if you keep it in the fridge it would work just fine.

  12. 04/10/2011 5:14 pm

    Hmmmmm….one day left to enter. Suppose since I am one of your kinda crunchy friends I should try it. And since you are doing most of the work for me, why not! This is my official entry.

  13. 04/10/2011 5:43 pm

    Unfortunately I can’t enter because I’m in UK but I’ll be interested to see what the reactions are especially given I’m suffering badly from Hyperemesis and the smell of deodrant is not nice to my poor nasal passages at present!!
    How much does it cost to make a months worth?

    • Kate permalink*
      04/11/2011 1:55 pm

      It wouldn’t cost much, but it would depend on how much your ingredients cost. I buy coconut oil and baking soda in bulk, so that drives down my costs. Sorry. That isn’t much help, I know. I don’t know of a good place in the UK to get coconut oil and arrowroot powder at a good price. If I did, I’d do a cost breakdown for you. If you are interested, I can figure out what it costs me to make a batch. Just not sure how well the price in dollars would translate into pounds since I can get coconut oil super cheap over here, but never found a good source for it when I was over there.

      • 04/12/2011 4:52 am

        Everything is more expensive over here!! lol It’s such a shame because I think more people would be more likely to try eco-friendly/natural things if it were cheaper! Even when I made home-made washing powder it was cheaper for me to buy the things in the store [even though they were more expensive] because buying online the shipping was so expensive because of the weight!!

  14. Sarah permalink
    04/11/2011 8:31 pm

    Bummed I missed out! However, I am a totally natural deodorant lover! It really works and I haven’t looked back in 3 years!

  15. 04/15/2011 6:57 pm

    I can’t seem to find coconut oil here!! And I wanted it to make your power bars too . . . Huge bummer!! I’ll keep looking . . .

  16. 11/18/2012 1:03 am

    I know this is last year I like to do my own challenge if no 1 else is interested can you please get back at me I like to get things being sent to my home thank you
    Sincerely Victor
    Ps: I’ve always wanted to try something elsebecause the regular deorderant irritates my skin

Trackbacks

  1. Natural Deodorant Giveaway Winners! « Kinda Crunchy Kate
  2. The Great Natural Deodorant Challenge: Make the Big Switch this Month! « Kinda Crunchy Kate

Comments are closed.