Skip to content

Things I Love Thursday: Audiobooks!

03/10/2011

I love listening to audiobooks!

I really enjoy reading, but I don’t really have time to read much right now. I read some magazines and I read things online, but one of my favorite things to do is to get lost in a good book. The only problem with this is that when I actually do let myself read a good book, I get so wrapped up in it that I have trouble doing much else other than reading. I think it might be genetic, because my dad does the same thing. I’ll read all day until the book is done and nothing else will get done other than anything that is pressing. After being married to me for almost eight years now, my husband knows that if he just leaves me alone and lets me finish the book, it’ll be over much sooner. However, for the sake of my family, I only let myself get novels if I am on vacation.

Within the past couple of months I have discovered the joys of audiobooks and now I can “read” to my heart’s content because my hands and eyes are free to keep working. My house is the cleanest when I am listening to a good book. :) I also don’t get nearly as caught up in the “reading” process and can put the story away when I need to much easier. (Not sure why that is….)

Where to get audiobooks inexpensively

I discovered that if you sign up through this link on Amazon, you can get two free audiobooks when you sign up for an Audible trial period. You can cancel the trial after you have downloaded your books. If you enjoy it, its $14.95 per month for one audiobook per month. However, that’s too rich for my blood right now, so I just did the two free books and then canceled my trial.

Your local library might also offer audiobooks. I just discovered this and have already listened to one and downloaded another one today. Its free and you can download them to your listening device right from home. I love it!!

Recommended Audiobooks

There is a nice summary of each book if you click the links. I’ll just add my thoughts below.

A Prayer for Owen Meany — I really love this book and the gentleman that reads it is fantastic. I was laughing out loud at times.

The Help — There are four different narrators for this one and they are superb. I like the different viewpoints from the three main characters. It was an enjoyable listen.

Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption — This is the true story of WWII veteran Louis Zamperini. The things this man has accomplished and endured in his lifetime are astounding. This is a very inspirational story. It even inspired me to call my grandma and find out more about my grandpa, who was also a WWII fighter pilot.

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks — I just finished this book last night. It was fascinating and really makes you think.

 

 

 

 

 

One More Thing

I also like listening to NPR’s This American Life podcast. This is absolutely my favorite radio show and I’ve been listening to it every week for a long time now. Its only an hour long and the podcast is free the week the show airs. Make sure you check out their archives and favorites too. You can’t download the shows in the archives for free, but you can stream them for free.

 

 

Check out other people’s favorite things over at The Diaper Diaries today.

5 Comments
  1. LindaBranam permalink
    03/10/2011 12:50 pm

    I became a member of Audible about 10 years ago! I even got a free MP3 player when I signed up. I listen to books while I exercise, garden, do boring housework, during errand driving and trips. I currently have the membership where you pay 9.99/year and get a discounted price on downloaded books. I put the free app on my new iPhone and can listen through the phone rather than the old MP3 player. I loved The Help and Immortal Cells. I will try Owen Meany next. I also liked The Lacuna and Barbara Kingsolver reads it herself….very good writing as well as an interesting story.

    • Kate permalink*
      03/10/2011 1:19 pm

      Mrs. Branam,
      Owen Meany is on sale right now at Audible for $4.95, so this would be a good time to buy it! It has been my favorite audio book so far, although I love the book, so that may be why. Your daughter-in-law introduced me to the book back in college. :)
      I am a big Kingsolver fan. I’ve read the Lacuna before. I think that was actually the last novel I read before I discovered the audiobooks. I listened to Prodigal Summer (which was also read by her), but I wasn’t a huge fan of that one. My favorite of her’s so far is The Poisonwood Bible, although Animal, Vegetable, Miracle is a close second. I read that both of those, but I think Poisonwood Bible would be a fascinating listen with the four different viewpoints and the way she writes it. Let me know if you listen to any other good books! I’m always looking for recommendations!

  2. Christa Schneider permalink
    03/14/2011 9:26 pm

    Hey Kate,
    Thanks again for an awesome suggestion! I just signed up for the free trial of Audible and downloaded The Help and The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks (which I’d already heard good things about).
    Thanks so much – I like Things I love Thursdays a lot! :)

    Christa

    • Kate permalink*
      03/14/2011 9:31 pm

      Those two books actually have the same narrators, so you are going to have their voice in your head a lot. :) Thankfully, they are both excellent–the narrators and the books! Let me know what you think after you listen to them.

  3. 04/04/2011 9:43 am

    Have you heard of http://librivox.org/? I’ve only made one attempt at using it, and couldn’t get passed the first few chapters of the book I was reading because the narrator was so obnoxious.. but they are all free since they’re public domain! :) Could be a good resource for you.

Comments are closed.