Skip to content

Recipe: Pumpkin Whole Wheat Honey Muffins

03/04/2011

I have a theory that every woman has one food item that she can make very well. Some women make cookies, my mother’s specialty is pie crusts. My specialty is muffins. I like making muffins, I make them frequently, and I try to make them with as much healthy stuff as I can, while still making them taste good enough for my kiddos to eat without complaining. I accomplished this mission with the following recipe.

Pumpkin Whole Wheat Honey Muffins

Makes 12 muffins (or more–I think I got 14 out of it.)

Ingredients

1  2/3 cups whole wheat flour

1 1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp ginger

1/4 tsp nutmeg

1/4 tsp cloves

1/4 tsp allspice

3/4 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

2 eggs

1 15 oz can of pumpkin puree

1/4 cup applesauce

1/4 cup coconut oil (melt it before you add it)

1/2 cup honey

Optional: 1/2 cup chopped walnuts or pecans

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350F. Grease a 12 cup muffin pan or line with paper liners. In a large bowl, stir together the flour, spices, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Make a well in the center and put in the eggs, pumpkin, applesauce, oil, and honey. Mix just until the dry ingredients are absorbed, If you are using nuts, stir them in. Spoon into muffin cups so they are about 2/3 full. Bake for 18 minutes in a pre-heated oven, or until the tops spring back when lightly touched. Cool in the pan before removing from cups.

Don’t forget to check out Gayle’s recipe too!

_____________________________

This post is linked up to Your Green Resource! Check it out!

8 Comments
  1. Nana Phyllis permalink
    03/04/2011 1:34 pm

    YUM!! Will need to try these!

  2. 03/04/2011 3:51 pm

    They sound amazing!

  3. 03/08/2011 6:18 am

    I love muffins too! I try to make a batch of muffins once a week, and I often double it to stick muffins in the freezer. Last week I made carrot muffins, and this week I’m making zucchini. I love that you can sneak some healthy stuff, like veggies, into muffins! I have a pumpkin muffin recipe that I love, but I’ll have to give yours a try, I always like to find new recipes.

    • Kate permalink*
      03/10/2011 11:01 pm

      Great minds think alike. :) Once I made muffins with shredded carrot, bran, coconut, and I can’t even remember what else. They looked horrible, but they tasted great. My daughter scarfed them down, but we did get odd looks and lots of questions when that was part of her lunch at play group.

  4. Andrea Chapin permalink
    06/15/2011 9:58 pm

    Perfect! I’ve been looking for a healthy muffin recipe all week. They have all had 87 cups of sugar so this one seems like a winner. But what are you going to do about the bananas gathering fruit flies on my kitchen table? Have any healthy banana muffin recipes under your belt?

  5. Andrea Chapin permalink
    06/16/2011 10:33 pm

    Update: I found a health banana muffin recipe!

    Banana Rhubarb Whole Wheat Muffins

    -2 cups whole wheat flour
    -1/4 cup of brown sugar
    -2 ¼ tsp baking powder
    -1 ½ tsp cinnamon
    -1/4 tsp nutmeg
    -1/4 tsp salt
    -1/2 cup Egg Beaters (or 2 eggs)
    -1/4 cup agave nectar (or honey)
    -1 tsp vanilla extract
    -2 cups very ripe pureed bananas
    -1/2 cup diced fresh rhubarb

    Directions:

    *Preheat the oven to 350 deg and lightly grease 12 cup muffin pan
    *In a large bowl, combine dry ingredients (first 6)
    *In a smaller bowl combine wet ingredients (next 4)
    *Add wet to dry stirring just until it comes together
    *Fold in rhubarb
    *Disperse batter into muffin cups. They will be quite full
    *Bake for 30 minutes, allow to cool in pan for 10 minutes and then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

  6. 09/10/2011 9:49 pm

    Thanks so much for this recipe! Made them tonight for a family that is spending all of their time with grandma in hospice – they expect to say goodbye to her soon and I’m sure these will be a blessing to them and their out of town guests.

    I used pureed butternut squash instead of pumpkin, and added 3/4 cup chocolate chips. :) Very yummy!

  7. 10/27/2011 8:34 pm

    Can’t get enough pumpkins these days! I love being able to offer my kids healthy homemade muffins too instead of packaged snacks.

Comments are closed.