Skip to content

Recipe: Tabbouleh (or Tabouli)

02/25/2011
I first tried this dish in college. You could buy it at the local grocery store by the ounce (which was good since it is a light dish so you got a lot for your money!), but one day they stopped offering it. I liked it so much, I decided to learn how to make it myself. It was a delightful discovery to learn that its not difficult at all to make.
This is a light and refreshing dish, with lots of yummy flavors.

Tabbouleh (or Tabouli)

Picture by Emily a.k.a. Miss Mommy

(I’ve seen it spelled more than one way, and they all seem to be correct.)

Ingredients

1 cup bulgur wheat
1 cup boiling water
1/4 cup olive oil
1/3 cup lemon juice
1 tsp salt ( I used less.)
1/4 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp oregano (dried)
1/4 cup green onions (chopped)
1 bunch fresh parsley (chopped)
1 bunch fresh mint (chopped) — use less mint than the parsley
1 large tomato (chopped)

Directions

In medium bowl pour boiling water over bulgur wheat and let sit for 1/2 hour. After 1/2 hour mix in all the rest of the ingredients and stir. It needs to sit for a few hours in the fridge to develop all the flavors. I just adjusted the amounts of the fresh herbs until I thought it tasted good and looked pretty. To serve, scoop it up with tortilla chips like you would a dip. (Which is why I use less salt than called for since they are salty.) You could also serve it on a bed of lettuce.
This is a great snack or a healthy side dish! Enjoy!
Don’t forget to check out the Friday recipe over at Gayle’s blog too. She always has something tasty. :)
2 Comments
  1. 02/25/2011 10:05 am

    I agree- since you brought it to play grp last year, and then Christy got it from you, we are all smitten…I have given out this recipe many times!

  2. grace permalink
    02/25/2011 10:17 am

    this looks fabulous…always heard my girls talking about this…now i understand! wonderful!

Comments are closed.