Skip to content

Recipe: Fresh Salsa (Chili’s Knock Off Recipe)

02/18/2011

I love this salsa recipe. I make it all the time and I am looking forward to this summer when I can make it from fresh ingredients right out of my own garden. (At least I hope I can do that. We’ll see how good of a gardener I am.) I think I like it so much because it doesn’t have any big chunks of stuff in it. I’m not a big fan of chunky salsa, so this fits the bill perfectly.

I got this recipe from Emily, and its posted on her mom’s blog here.

“Fresh” Salsa

1 can diced tomatoes (not crushed or flavored)

½ cup diced onion

¼ tsp. ground cumin

½ tsp. garlic powder

Juice of 1 lime (about 3 Tbsp lime juice)

2 slices of jarred jalapenos (I only use one so my kids will eat it.)

1 bunch cilantro leaves (I like to use a lot of cilantro. You can adjust this according to your taste. If you don’t like cilantro, then this is not the recipe for you because the cilantro is what makes this salsa so good.)

Directions:

Put in a bowl and use a hand blender or food processor until smooth.

Picture from For the Love of Food blog.

Easy and quick and delicious!

4 Comments
  1. grace permalink
    02/18/2011 2:10 pm

    LOVE this! i love cilantro, so will try this one…always up for another salsa recipe…thank you kate!

  2. Karol Quinn permalink
    02/18/2011 2:10 pm

    YUM. Thanks for sharing!

  3. 02/18/2011 2:41 pm

    Thanks for the link love! This is such a good, easy salsa remedy, especially for those of us in parts of the world that just don’t “get” Tex-Mex.

  4. 02/19/2011 6:09 pm

    It’s funny that you posted this yesterday, b/c I just made some of it today to put in Taco Soup for church tonight :-)

Comments are closed.