Skip to content

Easy and Frugal Gifts for a Special Lady

02/14/2011

I’ve spent this past weekend being Kinda Crafty Kate. (Crafty as in “liking to make things,” not devious.) I thought I’d share some inexpensive, simple and pretty heart and flower barrettes I made.  If I can do it, then you can too! :)

The supplies you will need for the felt flowers:

Felt in two or three different colors—I used purple, pink, green (for the leaves), and grey — I bought 1/4 yard of each color and this will make LOTS of barrettes.

Some buttons or beads

Scissors

Some type of hair clip to attach to the back or you could make them into pins to put on a jacket or a purse.

Glue (I like E6000, which you can buy at Wal-mart or any craft store)

Heart Barrettes

First thing I made were some heart barrettes for my daughter for Valentine’s Day. All you do is cut hearts out of felt and glue them together and then glue on a hair clip to the back. Easy!  It takes about 10 minutes from start to finish. (I like these barrettes because they are the only kind that will stay in my daughter’s fine hair. I get them at Michael’s when they are on sale or with my coupon. They’re in the jewellery section.)  I also saw a fun tutorial for something very similar over at Frugal Granola.

101_1772101_1773

Flower Barrettes (or Pins)

I made these for a friend and her two daughters.

101_1755

I’ve made these before, though, and other kinds too, so I’ll take you through all of these.

101_1759

I found the tutorials online for all of these, so I am going to link to those. No need to re-invent the wheel.

Felt Peony Flowers

My favorite flowers are these felt peony flowers. She does a tutorial on how to do the flowers and even provides a template for cutting out the felt. (Which I really appreciate because whenever I do crafts, my perfectionist tendencies kick in and I do much better with a template. I’m embarrassed to tell you how long the heart barrettes took me because I was trying to make all the hearts match exactly. I know. Crazy.)

101_1464

101_1760

You’ll notice one of these is smaller than the rest. I though that the size might be a bit overpowering for my daughter’s head, so I just used the four smallest “petals”.

I also made a pretty grey flower that looks similar to the peonies above, but it has more depth to it. There is a video tutorial about how to make it and there is also a free template you can download on the same page!

101_1765

101_1766

You’ll notice on the template that the flower will end up being huge if you use all of the petals. This would look great on a pillow (which is what they are making them for) but perhaps a bit comical attached to my head. I simply cut out the three smallest pieces of the template to use for my flower. I made two of the largest (out of these three) and then one of each of the two smallest ones. (Does that make sense?) You’ll end up with four layers.

Felt Rosette Flower

This was also very easy and I thought they turned out very sweet and pretty. I found the tutorial here.

101_1761

101_1762

Satin Flower

I found this tutorial over on Make It and Love It (one of my very favorite crafting blogs). I had some scraps of satiny fabric that I had used as a lining for a skirt I made a LONG time ago and it worked just fine. I put a couple of buttons in the middle of mine instead of beads.

101_1763101_1764

Here they are all together again, just because it makes me happy to look at them. :)

101_1759

Finishing a Project!

Finally, I also worked on finishing my daughter’s baby quilt. I started it 5 years ago right when I found out I was pregnant (before I even knew she was a girl!) and I haven’t finished it. I’m very pleased to tell you that this weekend I finished quilting it and I made and sewed the binding on.  All I have to do is hand sew the binding to the back and its done! Yay! I’m going to submit it to Unfinished Sewing Projects as soon as I get it fully completed.

101_1768101_1769

Don’t worry. I haven’t forgotten my son. I got some fabric this weekend to make him some special things too.

5 Comments
  1. Karol Quinn permalink
    02/14/2011 4:35 pm

    I’ve been knitting Carson’s blanket since I was 20 months pregnant with him and he’ll be a year next month, I know how you feel! :) Congrats on finishing! It’s beautiful!

    • Karol Quinn permalink
      02/14/2011 4:36 pm

      20 months pregnant? WOW. What a typo!! lol

      • Kate permalink*
        02/14/2011 4:50 pm

        I haven’t finished crocheting Callum’s blanket yet. Its also on my list of “Projects To Finish This Year.”

  2. 02/14/2011 4:41 pm

    I don’t have 2 daughters, so I’m not sure who you’re referring to…? Surely not some other friend?

    I am also glad that the whole 20 months thing got cleared up, too.

  3. 02/15/2011 6:36 pm

    Yea, finished project! Keep up the great work! :)

Comments are closed.