Skip to content

Recipe: Fiery Fish Tacos with Crunchy Corn Salsa and Cilantro-Lime Sauce

01/07/2011

I’m going to start posting a new recipe every Friday just like my friend Gayle does. I think its a good idea.

I made this recipe for Brannan after he came home from a short trip as a treat. However, it was so good and so simple to make, we are going to put this into our regular rotation. Very few recipes I make are restaurant quality (I’m a casserole kind of girl), but the depth of flavor and the presentation of this one really makes it stand out. A huge added bonus for us was that BOTH of my kids actually liked this. I couldn’t believe it. And they were asking for more! (I did use different spices on their fish so it wouldn’t be so spicy.) The sour cream sauce nicely tempers the spiciness of the cayenne pepper, though.

This recipe is adapted from this one that I found at Allrecipes.

Fiery Fish Tacos with Crunchy Corn Salsa and Cilantro-Lime Sauce

For the salsa:

  • 1 can corn, drained
  • 1 cup diced red onion
  • 1 cup black beans, drained and rinsed (These are from a can. Just wanted to make that clear.) :)
  • 1 cup diced red bell pepper
  • 1 cup fresh cilantro leaves, finely chopped
  • 2 limes, zested and juiced

For the Sauce:

  • Some sour cream
  • the rest of the cilantro leaves (maybe a 1/2 cup)
  • Some chili powder
  • The juice of one lime (about 3 Tbs.)

For the fish:

  • 1 tablespoon cayenne pepper
  • 1 tablespoon ground black pepper
  • 1 tablespoons salt
  • 6 (4 ounce) fillets tilapia or any white fish (or more because this recipe is better the next day!)
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 12 corn tortillas, warmed (we had whole wheat tortillas because that is what I had on hand)

Optional: Homemade guacamole goes very nicely with this.

Instructions:

  1. Preheat grill for high heat.
  2. For the salsa: In a medium bowl, mix together corn, red onion,black beans, red bell pepper, and cilantro. Stir in lime juice and zest.Prepare to start salivating because this smells amazing! Its really pretty too.
  3. For the sauce: In another bowl mix together the sour cream, leftover cilantro leaves, the chili powder, and lime juice and combine well. I used my stick blender for this, but it made it really runny. I’d suggest you cut up the cilantro leaves very fine and then just mix everything up with a spoon.
  4. For the fish: In yet one more small bowl, combine cayenne pepper, ground black pepper, and salt. Brush each fish fillet with olive oil, and sprinkle with spices.
  5. Arrange fillets on grill grate, and cook for 3 minutes per side. I used my George Foreman, but it would be good on an outside grill as well.
  6. For each fiery fish taco, top one corn tortilla with fish, corn salsa, and sauce. Try not to lick your plate and fingers. :)

Here is a photo of the finished product.

The fish is just peeking out from beneath the salsa.

Then add the Cilantro-Lime sour cream sauce. Mine is runny because I used the stick blender. It was still good, though!

7 Comments
  1. Alisia permalink
    01/07/2011 1:01 pm

    I’m going to try this next week. Yummy!

  2. grace permalink
    01/07/2011 2:06 pm

    LOVE this recipe…reading it makes me hungry…and i have to go shopping soon…better eat! it really looks like a light and tasty meal! love the name too! :)

Trackbacks

  1. Menu Plan Monday: Robert Burns Night | The Adventures of Miss Mommy
  2. Menu Plan Monday: Bacon, Tomato, & Lentil Soup | The Adventures of Miss Mommy
  3. Menu Plan Monday: Carrot & Coriander Soup | The Adventures of Miss Mommy
  4. Menu Plan Monday: PF Chang’s Copy Cat Recipe! | The Adventures of Miss Mommy
  5. Menu Plan Monday: the freezer edition | The Adventures of Miss Mommy

Comments are closed.