Skip to content

Recipe: Olive Oil and Rosemary Bread

12/29/2010

I found this recipe for olive oil and rosemary bread online a while ago and cannot stop making it. It is so easy and so delicious and it makes my house smell great while it is cooking. It perhaps is not the healthiest of breads since it uses white flour, but it is all real ingredients–no preservatives or high fructose corn syrup–so I think this is still considered “crunchy.” This is also a much more frugal option than buying a nice artisan loaf of bread at the grocery store.

Rosemary and Olive Oil Bread

Ingredients:

1 cup water (I’ve been finding that the dough is too sticky, so I’ve started to decrease the amount of water a little bit.)

3 tablespoons olive oil

1 1/2 teaspoons white sugar

1 1/2 teaspoons salt

1/4 teaspoon Italian seasoning (I don’t keep this in my pantry, so I just throw in some basil and oregano.)

1 tablespoon dried rosemary (I usually do a little bit more than that, but I really like rosemary.)

2 1/2 cups bread flour

1 1/2 teaspoons active dry yeast

Directions:

Put all ingredients in bread machine and use the white cycle. You should put the ingredients in in the order your manual for your machine instructs you too. In general, the proper order is liquid ingredients, flour, other dry ingredients, and then the yeast last. You can let it bake in the bread machine, but I usually just use my machine to mix it all up, then let it rise for about an hour, then I transfer the dough to a cookie sheet with a sheet of parchment paper on it and bake it at 375F for 30 minutes.The crust is slightly hard this way, but not so hard that my almost two year old son can’t chew it.

This bread is so good and it is even better dipped in some olive oil and balsamic vinegar. Yum!!

(Next time I make it, I’ll take a picture and add it here. If you’d like to see a picture before then, if you follow this link, there are 79 photos of this bread available, which is way more pictures of bread than you could ever want.)

6 Comments
  1. 12/30/2010 10:37 am

    You’re funny! Thanks for adding me to your blog roll, too. ;)

    • Kate permalink*
      12/30/2010 12:47 pm

      Right back at ya. :)

  2. nanaphyllis permalink
    12/30/2010 12:08 pm

    Kate, sounds delicious. I’m always looking for a way to use rosemary. I have a huge bush of it in my herb garden. You should try growing it. It likes hot dry weather in the summer and survives freezes in the winter. It is pretty hardy.

    • Kate permalink*
      12/30/2010 12:47 pm

      Growing herbs is on my list of things to do this spring. Glad to know that rosemary is so hardy!

  3. Tara permalink
    01/02/2011 9:02 pm

    I can’t wait to try this! Thank you for sharing.

Trackbacks

  1. Recipe: Healthy Chicken Noodle Soup « Kinda Crunchy Kate

Comments are closed.