Skip to content

Hard Lotion Bar Recipe and Instructions

12/22/2010

{Edited to add: I did a photo tutorial about how to make these lotion bars. You can check that out to for detailed step by step instructions with pictures. Thanks!}

First, you need to watch this tutorial on how to make hard lotion to get a feel for what you will be doing..

Then you need to go  to Graham Gardens to look at what you will be attempting to make.

So, I set out to copy Graham Gardens recipe. They have not made their recipe available online but they have made their ingredient list available, so I did some snooping around the internet trying to find a good recipe and couldn’t find one. So, I decided to come up with my own.

I discovered that you need to keep your raitio of beeswax, butters, and oils the same. In other words, a 1:1:1 ratio. So here is the recipe I came up with.

Please note that this recipe is by weight, not by volume. You will need a scale. :)

Ingredients:

6 oz beeswax

4 oz cocoa butter

2 oz shea butter

2 oz jojoba oil

2 oz coconut oil

2 oz olive oil

Instructions:

Melt beeswax first (I think because it has the highest melting point.) You can do this in a crock pot, microwave, or a double boiler. Then, after its melted, add in the butters. Stir with a wooden skewer or a popsicle stick (something you can throw away). Then, after those melt, add in the oils and stir some more. The oils will cool the other things already in there when you pour them in enough that some of them will resolidify, so wait until those have melted again. (It kind of surprised me.) After every thing is melted, add fragrance if you so desire.

Now simply pour into molds. A turkey baster is recommended to get the liquid from the bowl its in to the mold. (I tried to just pour it in from the bowl and it was rather frustrating.) I just used muffin tins for my molds. I made some big and some small and it works great. Now, set somewhere to harden. (As long as it isn’t super hot in your house, you can just leave them on the counter top.) If you have trouble getting the bars to pop out of the molds, stcik them in the freezer for a few minutes and they should pop right out then. Voila!! If for some reason the bars don’t come out how you like them, simply re-melt them and add more ingredients to adjust them to your liking.

Clean Up:

To clean the bowl and the muffin tins you’ll have to get them hot enough so the stuff on them will melt again. I put the bowl in the microwave and then wiped it out with a paper towel. You could eitherr pour boiling water on the muffin tins or put them in the oven for a few minutes and then wipe them off. Your hands will be nice and moisturized after this. :)

A Note About the Recipe:

If you’ll notice in the recipe  above there are 6 oz of each category–beeswax, butters, and oils. You can split them up any way you want to as long as you keep the ratios the same (as far as I understand.) So, in theory (since I’ve only made this once) if I wanted to add some mango butter, I could reduce the amount of one of the other butters and add in the mango–as long as the ratio is kept 1:1:1.

I didn’t add any fragrance to this because I really like the smell of it without. The cocoa butter gives it a nice chocolatey scent. If you would like to add essential oils, I read that you add 10 drops of essential oils per ounce. I’ve never tried it, so if you do, let me know. :)

All of these ingredients can be found at Mountain Rose Herbs.

Let me know if you have any questions! Enjoy!

Here they are! My first batch!

15 Comments
  1. Donna/Nonna permalink
    12/22/2010 8:12 am

    Just LOVE your new blog…very impressive, but not surprising. You have such a creative talent…going natural AND being frugal! And the lotion bars are the BEST! Thanks for gifting one to me. I am looking forward to your next blog!

  2. Heather permalink
    12/22/2010 9:37 am

    Very cool! I’m enjoying my sample. :-) Thanks!

  3. Nana Phyllis permalink
    12/22/2010 2:38 pm

    Looks GREAT. Have you used them? What do you think??

    • Kate E. permalink*
      12/22/2010 2:53 pm

      I have used them and I love them. The reason I wanted to make them in the first place was because after I would use the one from Graham Gardens that I bought my skin would feel amazing. (I haven’t been able to tell a difference between the one I made and the one I bought.) I’ve had some dry patches lately that have not been cleared up with lotion and after a couple applications of this bar, they are fine now.
      On another topic, would you like to do a guest post about making bread? I’d love for you to do a tutorial about how you make your homemade bread. :)

  4. 12/24/2010 12:50 pm

    I love this idea! I have these ingredients on hand from making soap so now you know what I will be trying to make in the next week. :) Thank you for sharing your blog with me!

  5. Tara permalink
    12/27/2010 10:12 pm

    I love your new blog! You inspire me to get more creative next time I make my hard lotion.

  6. Christa permalink
    01/05/2011 10:13 am

    Hey Kate! I just found your new blog and am really enjoying it. I think I’m going to try most of this stuff that you’ve posted and am especially excited about the deodorant – thanks for making your posts so thorough and user-friendly. When you get the time I’d love to see a cost break-down of the lotion bars and also exactly what you order from Mountain Rose Herbs for the ingredients (e.g. beeswax pastilles or the filtered bars?). Thanks so much – I definitely have this blog on my Google Reader now! :)

  7. Laura permalink
    01/17/2011 9:43 pm

    OK, I just got my supplies in the mail today. Do I really need a scale to pull this off? Can’t I just approximate? I don’t have a turkey baster either. Hmmm.

    • Kate permalink*
      01/17/2011 9:48 pm

      I’m pretty sure you need a scale. I just used one of those dinky Weight Watcher scales that my MIL had around her kitchen. You could approximate, but then the bars might be too soft or too hard. I guess you’d just have to re-melt them and try again if it didn’t work. I would think you could pick up a scale for less than $10 somewhere. Anyway, next Monday I’m going to do a photo tutorial about how to make the hard lotion bars. Its not hard, though. You can do it!

  8. Christy permalink
    01/15/2012 2:43 am

    I love the idea of making these but wondered if you could make this without bees wax. Every time I use a product with bees wax, I react adversely.

    • Molly permalink
      02/13/2013 3:31 am

      Christy,

      I am just starting out in this whole DIY self care products…so take my info with a grain of salt. If you go to Mountain Rose Herbs (they have a website) and look at their products, they have Carnuba Wax and a natural Emulsifying Wax. I would think you would be able to substitute either for bees wax.

      Incidentally, have you best tested for a bee allergy. That is usually the cause of a reaction to beeswax and even raw honey.

  9. 12/28/2012 2:47 pm

    Hey there! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any trouble
    with hackers? My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing several weeks of
    hard work due to no back up. Do you have any solutions to stop
    hackers?

Trackbacks

  1. How to Make Hard Lotion Bars: A Photo Tutorial « Kinda Crunchy Kate
  2. How to Make Hard Lotion Bars: A Photo Tutorial « Kinda Crunchy Kate
  3. Dreaming of a Green Christmas: Graham Gardens Giveaway! « Kinda Crunchy Kate

Comments are closed.