Skip to content

Recipe: Black Bean Brownies

05/27/2011

I’ve been craving chocolate lately, but I didn’t have any in the house last week, so I decided I needed to make something. And, seeing as how I am Kinda Crunchy Kate, I can’t just make normal baked goods without trying to slip something healthy into them. Thus, Black Bean Brownies were decided upon. I blended a couple of recipes to get the one I used. It ended up being really good and tasting more like a dark chocolate brownie. My husband and both of my children gobbled these down, so it couldn’t have tasted too healthy! :)

Black Bean Brownies

Ingredients

1 can black beans, drained and rinsedĀ  — (I’m still not crunchy enough not to use canned food, but if you are, its about 2 cups cooked black beans)

3 eggs

3 Tbsp melted coconut oil

1/3 cup cocoa powder

1/4 tsp salt

1 Tbsp vanilla

1/2 cup to 3/4 cup sugar (depending on how sweet you want it. I always try to use less sugar than the recipe calls for, so I used 1/2 cup.)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Lightly grease an 8×8 square baking dish.
  2. Combine the black beans, eggs, coconut oil, cocoa powder, salt, vanilla, and sugarĀ  in a blender; blend until smooth; pour the mixture into the prepared baking dish.
  3. Bake in the preheated oven until the top is dry and the edges start to pull away from the sides of the pan, about 30 minutes.

This recipe is very easy to make and there are not many ingredients, which makes it a great recipe to let your kids help you with. Enjoy!

4 Comments
  1. 05/27/2011 8:04 am

    I have wanted to try making black bean brownies for a while. I have heard nothing but rave reviews about them, but I just haven’t worked up the nerve. I think when I make them I won’t be able to tell my hubs what’s really in them until after he’s tried them, otherwise I don’t think he’ll give them a chance! :) You’ve inspired me!

  2. Pamela permalink
    05/27/2011 9:36 am

    Thanks for this recipe, Kate! Can’t wait to try i!

    Note: If you used dried beans (cooked) instead of canned, you might have to add a bit more salt to your recipes. Often the canned ones taste so yummy because of the sodium in them! What I do with dried beans is cook up a LOT, then put them in 2-cup portions in the freezer, either in stackable containers or ziplock bags laid flat.

    Love your website! I tried vinegar as a rinse aid, but it didn’t work for me — perhaps because we have hard water??? Keep the crunchy ideas coming!

    Oh, and do you know of a homemade facial scrub? I’ve tried an oatmeal one in the past but it was to thin and soggy, which defeats the purpose of a scrub. I want something that resembles St. Ives Apricot scrub, but that may be asking too much!

  3. Jennifer permalink
    08/13/2011 9:21 pm

    My husband and I made these. Winner!!!! Who would go back to regular brownies?? Thanks for the recipe.

  4. grace brouwer permalink
    08/21/2012 8:42 pm

    i am GOING to do this! thank you!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 113 other followers