Skip to content

Recipe: German Chocolate Power Bars

02/04/2011

I am so excited to share this recipe with you today!  Katie Kimball from Kitchen Stewardship has given me permission to share this recipe with you from her eBook, Healthy Snacks to Go. I bought this eBook right before we moved this summer and have just now gotten a chance to make some of the recipes in it and I am loving it! She is so thorough with her instructions and suggestions and also gives a lot of helpful tips and suggestions. I find myself referencing this eBook quite frequently! I have made a few other recipes besides the one I am sharing with you today and they have all been excellent. We especially liked the Wheat Thin crackers recipe, but if you want that one, you’ll just have to buy the book! :) (By the way, I was not asked to advertise this book, nor am I receiving any compensation for doing so, just in case you were wondering. I just really like it and think others will too!)

Here’s a little peak at the Table of Contents, if you are interested.

The recipe that I am going to share today is the German Chocolate Power Bar. This is just like a Larabar, only its way cheaper to make your own. In fact, it would be most similar to a Chocolate Coconut Larabar. Not only is this very healthy, it tastes so good. My kids think its a dessert and we call them Brownie Bites in my house. It also has enough chocolate in it to fulfill that nagging chocolate craving that I get at least once a day.

German Chocolate Power Bars from Healthy Snacks To Go eBook

Ingredients

This is for one batch. I usually triple this when I make it because we like it so well and it doesn’t take much additional effort.

1/2 ounce unsweetened chocolate (I use semi-sweet chocolate chips)

1/3 cup pecans or walnuts

1/4 cup almonds

1/2 cup dates

2 tsp cocoa powder

1 Tbs unsweetened coconut

1+ tsp(s) coconut oil

Directions:

In a food processor, pulse the unsweetened chocolate, the pecans or walnuts, and the almonds until chopped finely. Be careful not to turn it into nut butter! Then add in the dates. Process until there are no large chunks. While you are processing the dates, stream in the cocoa powder and the coconut. At the very end, add in the coconut oil. The coconut oil is to make everything sticky enough to stick together so you can eat it easier. Add 1 tsp of coconut oil until it is the correct stickiness for you.

After that is done, you can either firmly press this all down in a glass dish, put it in the fridge, and then after it gets chilled, cut it into bars. (Line the dish with wax paper first to make it easier to remove from the dish.) I like to make little bite sized “balls”. I use a heaping half Tablespoon and then just press the mixture firmly into the spoon or use my palm and fingers to press it into a ball. You don’t have to store this in the fridge, but the consistency is better if you do. Store in an airtight container and try not to eat them all in one day.

Dates?! Do I Really Need Dates?

You may be thinking, just as I was, “Do I have to use dates? I’ve never bought dates before and I don’t think I like them.” The answer is yes, you do need to use dates because it drastically affects the flavor if you use something like raisins instead. And if I didn’t add the dates myself to this recipe, I would not believe you if you told me there were dates in it. Its that good. I found a big bag of whole pitted dates at Sam’s Club for $7 or $8, which will make many batches.

Just in case you are skeptical, here is proof that they are great and my kids love them! :)

Today Gayle is sharing her recipe for Chicken Broccoli Lo Mein. It looks really good! Check it out!

6 Comments
  1. 02/04/2011 10:17 am

    Soooo excited about these! Definitely going to buy the ebook!

  2. Nana Phylllis permalink
    02/05/2011 2:19 pm

    I LOVE Lara Bars and yes, they are expensive. I’ll be trying these one of these days.

  3. 02/05/2011 8:20 pm

    Even I could eat these…..and that’s saying something! I’ll definitely have to try it out. Yay! Thanks for sharing. Going to put it in the “Allergy Friendly Websites” bookmark folder now :) I used to eat Larabars until I realized they are laced with some kind of hidden corn. Hurray for a replacement! Cheers, KCK!

  4. 02/06/2011 10:35 am

    Where can I find coconut oil in Aberdeen?

    • Kate permalink*
      02/06/2011 1:51 pm

      Ask RO. Joy might know of someplace too. I’m guessing the health food shops have it. I bought some online while I was there, but I can’t remember the company’s name anymore.

  5. Tara permalink
    02/11/2011 4:41 pm

    I’m so glad you posted this! I bought that ebook a while ago, too. I even bought the ingredients to make these but never have. Now I’m motivated! :)

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 113 other followers