Skip to content

Recipe: Healthy Chicken Noodle Soup

01/28/2011

I really like chicken noodle soup, especially when I’m sick. I’d always used the Campbell’s brand and never thought twice about it. It was one of those comfort foods I’d always had growing up. When I moved to Scotland, I tried some chicken noodle soup over there and it was disgusting. Obviously, I was going to need to try something else. I found this recipe, tweaked it some to make it even more healthy, and have never bought a can of chicken noodle soup again. Not only can you control the ingredients and especially the amount of salt added, but the homemade chicken stock is super healthy and filled with all kinds of important vitamins and minerals. The stock also adds a richness and depth of flavor that can’t be found in a can. Yum, yum!

Healthy Chicken Noodle Soup

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 3 or 4 (or more!) cloves of garlic, chopped up small (or just use a garlic press)
  • 2 or 3 stalks of celery, chopped
  • 2 liters of homemade chicken stock (If you don’t make your own stock, you can use store bought broth, but do me a favor and please check and make sure it doesn’t have MSG in it. Thanks.) :)
  • 1/2 pound chopped cooked chicken–I usually use chicken I have left over after roasting a chicken
  • 1 1/2 cups egg noodles
  • 2 or 3  carrots, sliced
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried basil
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried parsley
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

In a large stock pot, saute the onion, celery, garlic, and carrot in butter until the onion gets translucent and soft. (The celery and carrot won’t be soft. That’s okay.) Then add the chicken stock and the chicken to the pot. You can go ahead and add the basil, oregano, salt and pepper too. Bring to a boil and then turn down to a simmer. You are going to simmer this for a total of 20 minutes. After about 10 minutes, add the noodles. (You may want to look on your package of noodles and see how long the suggested cooking time is and add them in at that time. Some of my noodle have been 7 minutes and another brand was 12. By doing this and not adding them right when you add the stock, you keep them from getting too mushy.) Your soup is done when the noodles are the correct softness.

This is wonderful served with some crusty bread. (We like the Olive Oil and Rosemary Bread.)

Enjoy!

Gayle is featuring my Pumpkin Pancake recipe and another tasty pumpkin recipe over on her blog. Check it out and say hi to her!

3 Comments
  1. 01/28/2011 4:40 pm

    Yea, the chicken noodle soup is awful here- they put corn in it!!

  2. Heather permalink
    01/29/2011 8:14 pm

    I’ve been following your blog at the recommendation of a friend and I love it! Thanks for posting your natural-living escapades :) I made the homemade chicken stock and LOVE it… my husband gets chronic migraine headaches which we’ve traced back to additives, preservatives, fake stuff etc in the food he eats so I’m loving not having to spend $3 a box on organic, msg-free broth :) AND i made the deodorant tonight! so easy. can’t wait to see how it works :) sick of putting aluminum in my body!

    • Kate permalink*
      01/31/2011 10:56 am

      Yay! So glad you are trying some of this stuff out. :) Nice to “meet” you, Heather! Let me know what you think of the deodorant, too. I really love it.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 114 other followers